Thursday, September 3, 2009

my first week at work.

the first day was really hectic. there were a million and one things to remember and no time to do them all. here's some of the my responsibilities as of this week - sending out emails, ordering their mail, opening new client files, lodging documents, the usual scanning/faxing/photocopying, manning the phones, seeing to anyone who walks into the office. it doesn't sound like much, but when you haven't had time to really register exactly how everything is supposed to be done, it's alot.

i learnt to use a typewriter yesterday which was cool because it's such a novelty. i didn't even think people used them anymore, but the office uses the typewriter for labels. *shrug*

it also doesn't help that the person whom i'm supposed to report to is rather impatient and very testy at times. she's youngish, from china and even though her english isn't bad sometimes it's hard to understand clearly what she means and so misunderstandings happen. she tells me to always ask if i'm not sure, but the thought of asking makes me miserable because she already thinks i'm stupid. the way she talks to me is like she's talking to someone slow. the other language she's comfortable with is cantonese, which i don't understand yet. when she speaks to me, i reply in English until she snapped at me - "can you really speak chinese?" after which i made a note to try and remember to talk to her in mandarin (if i can. lol.) this week had a couple of trying moments, like today. i was asked to fill out a bank cheque deposit, which i've never done before. i guess most people would know how to do one but i haven't, and so i asked her how to do it. she raised her eyebrows at me with the most incredulous expression and repeated "you don't know how to do a bank cheque?" when i said no, i didn't, she gave a short laugh and asked me rather condescendingly "what year in uni are you in? you've never deposited a cheque before? do you even have a bank account?"

later on in the day i was asked to open and sort the mail. she'd sort of shown me how to do it on wednesday, plus she seemed busy so i told the person who asked me that i knew how to do it. later when i had a question, she said "why did you tell her you know how to do it if you don't? it's very easy to say 'i know how to do it' but if you really do you shouldn't be asking me then"
sure, she'd shown me once. but i can't remember every single thing. and if i ask questions that's what i get.. so i wonder how this is going to work. for now i swallow it because i know i have a lot to learn and i'm slow in the office. it's just demoralising when i feel like she's already written me off as being incompetent before even giving me a chance to learn and stuff.

anyway, it's been a few days since the merdeka event at cq. seeing kenny sia was mind-blowingly awesome :D he was so different to what i expected in person and he really did exude niceness (don't know if it makes sense, you had to be there) i didn't get a chance to tell him how much i've loved reading his blog over the years or to say thank you for coming down to melbourne and stuff. as we left we realised we should've gotten him a card or something but it was too late, and at 1am none of us wanted to head back to cq and join the mob of malaysian girls surrounding him. when i saw his merdeka entry on his blog, i wanted to leave a comment but as i scrolled down, i realised i didn't see any of his replies to any comments. then this link to the side of the page caught my eye - 'Email Me'. after awhile of contemplating whether or not it bordered on stalkerism but in the end i decided - why not, he's probably not even going to read it anyway.

so i did, i emailed him and said my thankyou's and told him i really liked his blog. i wasn't expecting a reply at all, but to my surprise (and delight - lol i'm still grinning) GUESS WHO EMAILED ME??!! :O i can't believe he took the time to reply my email (even though it was a short reply but still), i would've thought he'd be too busy with all the emails he gets..

yeah, it really made my day.


cheers to my fave blogger.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home