Tuesday, January 13, 2009

It has been five days since I left Melbourne and I am beginning to wish that I had been unambitious and content to spend summer at home.. now that I think about it 4 months of lazy, beach-filled days.. whilst poor, is not too bad. I could wake up late, lounge around in bum clothes, make smoothies with that new blender I have at home, read, drive out to see charles illegally. Tempting.

I wasn’t sure whether I should blog or not since I think the people who read my blog are the ones whom I’ve been emailing anyway.

Yesterday I caught up with my oldest friend in Singapore, from primary school. I think it’s because she’s Indian that the night before I had a strange dream about being in India. Odd :P amidst the goss, I heard that one of the girls from primary school, a really bright girl with such a promising future, had been forced to drop out because of family problems and now she wouldn’t get a chance to finish off her education. The weirdest thing is, she is now teaching at my ex-high school! When I heard this I had mixed feelings - shock, wonder, and just.. stunned at the way life can really throw you a curveball. I hope that it’s not the end of the road for her, and that she doesn’t lose sight of that bright future ahead of her even though it may look a little dim at the moment.

Lately I’ve found myself wondering what a day in poly or JC would be like - considering I never had a chance to experience it. Apparently A levels are a bitch - says ankita - who tells me she has nightmares about results and is still haunted by certain questions she knows she got wrong.T____T

So this is what I do at work.

Mainly I text.. a lot. Because I get bored. Sometimes I get given things to do, mostly menial things like filing and stuff. But other times I get things like proofreading and legal research, which is more challenging but also gets old after awhile.. I think I am a lazy ass who likes doing mundane things where I don’t have to exercise my mind. Anyway it is nonetheless all good experience so I am taking it in. other times I fall asleep - honestly, can someone tell me if it’s normal to have like, absolutely zero resistance to sleepiness? Because I think there must be something wrong with me.. I fall asleep everywhere. So far I’ve fallen asleep twice at work in the three days that I’ve been here - God knows for how long each time - and once was even in a meeting room where I’m pretty sure that EVERYONE saw me. Sometimes I worry that if I get bored whilst driving I will fall asleep at the wheel and that’ll be the end of that. =\ maybe I should see a doctor.

So yeah, I do a lot of sitting. And sneaky surfing of blogs, facebook, and email. I keep having to glance over my shoulder to make sure nobody who’s anybody that’ll mind walks past. Mostly I am ignored - people here are very busy because of the recession; everyone’s trying to find a way to worm out of their contractual obligations and so here it is non-stop cases cases cases. The only people who speak to me are the female asian lawyers - I think because they were once like me, interning in a strange place and not sure what to do. The upside to being ignored is that I get time to do things like this.. the downside is that when the office “aunty” takes orders for food at lunchtime she forgets me. I wish somebody bought me lunch L today I had to scurry downstairs myself .. or the right word is hobble (many days of consecutive heel-wearing has taken its toll on my feet) and because there wasn’t enough time to walk around I had to eat a chicken puff from starbucks. *makes face of disgust* I can’t believe I’m in Singapore eating chicken puffs from starbucks. Never again am I wasting $3.90 on a stupid starbucks chicken puff when I can get carrot cake for $3 at lau pa sat.

Another thing I do a lot these days is avoid the receptionist. Because I fall asleep so much I’ve fallen into a routine of drinking a lot of water to keep awake and then as a result obviously I have been peeing excessively. Nowadays I poke my head around the corner to make sure the receptionist isn’t looking before I dart to the toilet.. and yeah it’s annoying. Otherwise I just hold it so usually by the end of the day I’m seriously busting.

Mmm yesterday stef came down to have lunch with me. Man oh man I was so glad to see her. Having stef here is like a slice of home :) someone to text and whinge to about how I’m bored and etc.. or whatever. And just as importantly someone to EAT with! We went to the nearby lau pa sat and had carrot cake, oyster omelette, and char kway teow. All for ten dollars! And later on we had chendol for dessert (which is the 3-color drink equivalent) and this new dessert that had squishy sago balls.. I don’t know what they are called but it’s those thingys where you bite into them and you’re like.. mmm.. squish. :p and RUBY.. which is like. Water chestnuts..coated with a layer of pearl sago. YumMmmM..

I am getting fat lah. L food is everywhere and it beckons to me. I hear them saying to me “you only see us once a year! COME TO US!” and I have this super weakness for asian bread so omg my olfactory senses are having the time of their lives here. My stomach though is not. T__T lol. I keep this up and I’ll have to buy new clothes because I wont fit into the ones I bought from Melbourne. See in Melbourne.. you eat ß-----à much and the food is all burnt off because it’s cold. In Singapore you eat ß---à much and it just becomes fat and goes to your thighs.

But it’s ok, I asked charles if he would still love me even if I had 4 chins, tuckshoplady arms and thighs that slapped. :P I am not sure if he replied honestly but I don’t care he better have meant what he said!! Otherwise if I come back and he breaks up with me because I am fat I am going to have a fit and steamroll over him with my new fat. >=(

But continuing about foood..

Ohmygod. $1.90 bubble cup. *embraces bubble cup store*

Photos are up on facebook :)

1 Comments:

Blogger Charles said...

I wouldn't lieeee! *affronted*
You'd still be my girlfriend if you were *whisper* the "F-Word".
We'd eat ice cream together and I'd watch in delight as you rolled around in culinary joy...not only side-to-side but also back-to-front because you'd be jolly enough =P

But maybe I'd make you go on a diet too, for Health reasons of course :p

January 14, 2009 at 4:59 AM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home